In Illinois, many drivers are required to purchase SR-22 insurance. An SR-22 is not a real insurance policy and does not replace regular automobile insurance. A valid Illinois SR22 certificate proves that the driver has the required amount of liability insurance coverage. It’s a kind of proof of insurance that is only for drivers with a significant driving violation on their record.
How do Illinois Drivers Get an SR-22?
To prove they have liability insurance, drivers in Illinois who have been convicted of certain traffic infractions must purchase an SR-22. If a driver’s license is revoked, they will need to get an SR-22 before the license can be reinstated. Here are a few examples of when a motorist in Illinois would be required to obtain an SR-22:
- A DUI or DWI
- Reckless driving
- Multiple traffic violations
- Multiple at-fault accidents
- Serious accident
- Driving with no insurance
- Not paying child support when ordered to
Regardless of the nature or severity of the violation, drivers in the state of Illinois carry their SR-22 for three years on average. SR-22 insurance comes in the following forms:
- Operator’s Certificate – When driving a rented car, the driver is covered.
- Owner’s Certificate – Every vehicle driven by a person is covered. For each motor vehicle registered in the driver’s name, an SR-22 must be obtained.
- Operators-Owners Certificate – Vehicles that are utilized by the driver, as well as those used while driving a borrowed car.
Instead of purchasing an SR-22, drivers in Illinois may choose to make a deposit of $70,000 with the State Treasurer, file a real estate bond approved by a court of record, or file a surety bond with the Department of Motor Vehicles. An affidavit is an agreement that allows out-of-state drivers to waive their proof of financial responsibility requirements.
Illinois motorists who have an SR-22 on their record are required to have their certificate renewed every year. Drivers must renew their SR-22 insurance 45 days before its expiration date in order for it to remain valid.
If the driver’s SR-22 is canceled or expires because they have not used their car for a long period of time, they will be subject to additional fines and possible penalties. If your insurance provider does not receive a formal request to renew the SR-22 at least 15 days before the end of the term, they must notify the Secretary of State’s office.
Illinois SR-22 Cost
SR-22 insurance is readily available to drivers in Illinois at a low price, and the filing fee is fair. However, drivers with SR-22s will face some high fines. For example, suspended drivers must pay a license reinstatement fee, which can range from $70 to $500 per suspension.
After a driving suspension is imposed, a driver must pay $250 to have their license reinstated. The fine for two or more infractions is $500. For a traffic suspension, the return payment is $70 per suspension.
SR-22 holders will also see their car insurance costs rise. Insurance companies charge more for the extra risk since these drivers are more likely to file claims. After three yea