Latest News

Rugby World Cup Sevens Winners and Coverage Details 4:38 PM

In 2022, the eighth Rugby World Cup Sevens will feature 24 men’s and 16 women’s sides. It will be held in Cape Town Stadium, South Africa, between September 9th to September 11th. This will be Africa’s first ever Rugby World Cup Sevens.

The eighth edition of the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 will be hosted by World Rugby. The tournament will once again be made up of 24 men’s and 16 ladies teams. It will take place in September at one location.

The eighth edition of the Rugby World Cup Seven is now in production. It will kick off from September 9 to Sep 11, 2022. It will take place at Cape Town Stadium, South Africa. This is going to be a very exciting event. You can check the TV channels and where to stream Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022.

South Africa will host the tournament for the first time. They are looking forward to a great atmosphere and having fun.

For three days, the tournament will feature 24 men’s and 16 ladies’ teams. Let’s now check out the Rugby World Cup 7s 2022 TV Channels Listing and Where To Watch Live Streaming?

Rugby World Cup Sevens: All Time Past Men’s and Women’s Winners List. Results. Score

Rugby World Cup of Sevens History and Organizer.

The quadrennial Rugby World Cup Sevens, which currently includes both men’s and female competitions, is the highest level of rugby sevens competition other than the Summer Olympics.

The Melrose Cup is awarded to the men’s tournament champion. It bears the name of Melrose, Scotland where the first rugby sevens match took place. England won the first tournament, which was held in Scotland in 1993. Australia was the first country to win the women’s competition at the 2009 Rugby World Cup Sevens.

To allow rugby sevens at Summer Olympics to be included in the competition schedule, the event took a five-year break after the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens. New Zealand will be the reigning champions in the women’s and men’s competitions at Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa where the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens takes place.

List of Champions

It was held at Murrayfield, Edinburgh in 1993. Since then, it has been held every four years. In the inaugural final match, Australia defeated England 21-17 to win.

Edition Year Venue Champion Final Score Runner-up Losing semifinalists Total Teams
1 1993 Scotland Edinburgh England 21–17 Australia Fiji Ireland 24
2 1997 Hong Kong Hong Kong Fiji 24–21 South Africa New Zealand Samoa 24
3 2001 Argentina Mar del Plata New Zealand 31–12 Australia Argentina Fiji 24
4 2005 Hong Kong Hong Kong Fiji 29–19 New Zealand Australia England 24
5 2009 United Arab Emirates Dubai Wales 19–12 Argentina Kenya Samoa 24
6 2013 Russia Moscow New Zealand 33–0 England Fiji Kenya 24
7 2018 United States San Francisco New Zealand 33–12 England Fiji South Africa 24

Women’s Rugby World Cup of Sevens List of Winners

Edition Year Venue Champion Final Score Runner-up Losing semifinalists Total Teams
1 2009 United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates Australia 15–10 New Zealand United States South Africa 16
2 2013 Russia Moscow New Zealand 29–12 Canada United States Spain 16
3 2018 United States San Francisco New Zealand 29–0 France Australia United States 16


To Top

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This